Husa - Music for Prague 1968

April 22, 2022

Mallory Thompson conducts the Symphonic Wind Ensemble in this performance of Karel Husa's Music for Prague 1968. Commissioned by the Ithaca College Concert Band and premiered in 1969, the work commemorates Czechoslovakia's invasion by the Soviets, known as the "Prague Spring." Upon hearing news of this event happening in his homeland, the composer was inspired to write a work that both honored his native city's beauty and expressed the great suffering that took place there.

(00:16) Introduction and Fanfare
(07:26) Aria
(12:50) Interlude
(16:59) Toccata and Chorale

Related Videos

Return to All Videos