Campaign Priorities

Your support enhances the Bienen School’s position as one of the nation’s leading music institutions by investing in these priorities:

  • Merit aid and scholarships for undergraduate and graduate performance majors, including international students, will allow the Bienen School to better compete with peer institutions for leading talent from around the world.

  • Endowment for Academic and Artistic Programming to support special initiatives including festivals, commissions, and student ensemble touring will enhance opportunities for students and faculty.

  • The training of Voice and Opera students will be strengthened through increased connections with major opera artists and professional opera companies, and the prominence of the program offers significant opportunities for enhancing the school’s visibility.

  • Endowing the Institute for New Music will enable the institute to undertake special initiatives such as festivals, lectures, guest artist residencies, and commissions of new works.

  • Endowing the Department of Music Performance will support studies in brass, jazz, percussion, piano, strings, voice, and woodwinds as well as band, choral, and orchestral conducting.

  • Endowed professorships will allow the Bienen School to recruit and retain artist-scholars who will assist in recruiting the nation’s best music students, bolstering the school’s reputation as one of the nation’s top-ranked music institutions.

  • The permanent creation of an unrestricted endowed deanship will allow the dean to focus on the school’s highest annual priorities.

“Without the merit aid I received, I would not have had access to the highest caliber professors, rigorous and rewarding musical training, and the opportunity to practice in a world-class facility.”

Brannon Cho, B.M. 2017

Ways to Give

By Mail

Send your gift to the Bienen School of Music at the following address:
Bienen School of Music
70 Arts Circle Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2405

By Phone

Call Northwestern University's Department of Annual Giving at 800-222-5603 and direct your gift to the Bienen School of Music.


Give to Bienen Online

Music Advisory Board Members

  • Margee Filstrup, chair
  • Holly McClintock Bowling
  • Michelle Miller Burns
  • Richard and Jane Dean
  • Diane Douglas
  • Allan R. Drebin
  • Scott Filstrup
  • Shaun Finnie
  • Barbara Greis
  • Carol Honigberg
  • Sol Jin
  • Dolores Kohl Kaplan
  • Welz Kauffman
  • Ling Zhao Markovitz
  • Carole Ringer
  • Alexander and Liz Rorke
  • Jeannette Segel
  • Todd Smith
  • Trine Sorensen
  • William C. Steinmetz
  • Robert and Maya Tichio
  • Betty Van Gorkom
  • Bozhong Peter Xue

The Lutkin Society

In 1892, on the verge of disbanding Northwestern’s music program, University leaders turned to the one man they hoped could save it: Peter Christian Lutkin. Born in Wisconsin and educated in Europe, this celebrated musician agreed to take the helm. He went on to inspire and elevate the direction of music at Northwestern for the next 36 years. What had been a program became a school in 1895, and over time the school helped set a new standard for excellence in music education and performance.

Today, amid one of the most defining eras in its history, our first dean’s vision of greatness lives on through The Lutkin Society as the Henry and Leigh Bienen School of Music continues to aspire to ever-greater heights of artistic and academic excellence. The Lutkin Society represents the school’s closest friends, with membership offered to all patrons who contribute $1000 or more in a given year.

We Will: The Campaign for Northwestern

Learn More