Two Bienen School of Music student ensembles have advanced to the finals of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) Chamber Music Competition. The Bienen School is also one of only two schools nationally with ensembles in the both the wind and string categories. 

Fuse Quartet and Noros Quartet will perform at the MTNA national conference March 21-25, 2020. Six additional ensembles were selected to compete in both the wind and string category finals from a nationwide pool of applicants.

Fuse Quartet consists of master’s saxophone students Chris Forbes, David Schreck and Julian Velasco, and doctoral student Joe Connor (MM19). All ensemble members study with associate professor of saxophone Taimur Sullivan.

Coached by associate professor of piano Sylvia Wang, Noros Quartet includes Lam Wong, a doctoral piano performance and pedagogy student of James Giles; Daniel Huang, a dual-degree violin student of Desirée Ruhstrat and biological sciences major; Chloe Thominet, a doctoral viola student of Helen Callus; and Peter Eom, a master’s cello student of Hans Jensen

  • Taimur Sullivan
  • Sylvia Wang
  • James Giles
  • Desiree Ruhstrat
  • Helen Callus
  • Hans Jensen