The eNq, a Bienen School of Music trombone quartet, won first place in the 2018 International Trombone Association Quartet Competition.

Quartet members include master’s students Jake Mezera and Andre Prouty and undergraduate students Aneesh Kumar and Kenton Campbell. All are students of professors Michael Mulcahy, Timothy Higgins, Douglas Wright, Christopher Davis and Randall Hawes. Professor Christopher Davis coached the quartet.

The eNq was one of three finalists selected through a preliminary recording round. This is the first time since 2005 that a Northwestern quartet has received the top prize in this competition.

The International Trombone Festival is hosted annually by the International Trombone Association (ITA), the is the largest association of trombonists with members from more than 70 countries. The ITA Quartet Competition is one of 12 solo and ensemble competitions held by the festival. Each competition is among the most competitive and prestigious events for trombonists across the world. 

Hear The eNq’s performance from the ITA Winner’s Showcase, below.

  • brass