R. Schumann - Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 97 "Rhenish"

April 28, 2022

The Northwestern University Chamber Orchestra performs Robert Schumann's Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 97, (“Rhenish"). Robert G. Hasty conducts.

(00:21) Lebhaft
(00:00) Scherzo: Sehr mässig
(17:11) Nicht schnell
(23:09) Feierlich
(29:10) Lebhaft

Program Note

Composed in 1850, Robert Schumann’s “Rhenish” Symphony captures the composer’s euphoria around the Rhineland and boasts optimism for a fresh start in a new city. In a letter to his publisher, Schumann expressed that this work “perhaps mirrors here and there something of Rhenish life” and that his intent was to depict the “joyous simplicity and fresh naturalness of folk life.” Symphony No. 3 was completed in just five weeks during November and December and exists as Robert’s fourth symphony, despite bearing the number three. Following the composition of his Symphony No. 2, which he was dissatisfied with, he composed two more, of which this one is the second.

Related Videos

Return to All Videos