Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op. 26

March 5, 2022

Vincent Ip performs Sergei Prokofiev's Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op. 26 with the Northwestern University Symphony Orchestra as winner of the Bienen School's Concerto/Aria Competition. Victor Yampolsky conducts.

(00:18) Andante-Allegro
(10:32) Tema con variazioni
(21:09) Allegro, ma non troppo

Program Note

This performance was presented in a program showcasing three contrasting concertos demonstrating the wide stylistic breadth of the genre. Presented chronologically, these works encompass heartfelt romanticism, youthful vibrance, and powerful new repertoire. Beginning with the jewel of Romantic music wrought with German and Slavic culture, the Dvořák Concerto in B minor is a treasured work of the cello literature. Stylistically Romantic, the work is stunningly tender with heartfelt melodic writing and treacherous solo passages. Contrasting this, Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3 (video above) exudes winning optimism, masterful technique for the solo performer, and rich lyrical writing. The program concludes with the "Rush" Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra by Kenneth Fuchs, who captures the sounds of the New York music scene through transcendent and vibrant solo and orchestral writing.

Related Videos

Return to All Videos