Jennifer Higdon: Nemmers Prize Residency

October 19, 2018

Jennifer Higdon, winner of the 2018 Michael Ludwig Nemmers Prize in Music Composition, reflects on her first Bienen School residency. The Bienen School of Music welcomed Higdon Oct. 15 to 20, 2018 for the first of two Nemmers Prize residencies.

One of America’s most frequently performed composers, Higdon is the recipient of a 2010 Pulitzer Prize and two Grammy Awards — one in 2010 for her Percussion Concerto and another in 2018 for her Viola Concerto. Her extensive list of commissioners includes the Philadelphia Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, Atlanta Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Minnesota Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony and St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, as well as such ensembles as the Tokyo String Quartet, Lark Quartet, Eighth Blackbird and the President’s Own Marine Band.

During her October residency, Higdon coached Bienen School ensembles and chamber groups, conducted lessons and seminars with composition students, participated in an interdisciplinary panel discussion on the arts and attended performances by Bienen ensembles.

Learn More

Related Videos

Return to All Videos